Final farewell

I still didn't know as I left home whether or not Michael would need me to drive him down to Kilkenny for the burial after the church service, but we'd agreed that I'd be available if he hadn't managed an alternative. I woke before the alarm and put together the print-ready artwork which I should have done last night. I'd warned the printer that I had a funeral to go to, and had told him that the disk with the artwork would be ready and waiting for him. He turned up earlier than expected,, but I had to send him away again because there'd been a problem with burning the DVD (cheap, bad media seems the likeliest reason).

The second burn worked, and I headed across the city to the funeral church. I had no idea how long the journey would take, since I'm not used to rush-hour traffic, but it turned out to be a much quicker journey than I thought it would, so I was quite early getting there. Michael gave a beautiful and very moving oration, we hung around outside the church while hands were shaken and commiserations passed on, and I was on my way back home by 12.00 noon (Michael had managed to make an alternative arrangement for the drive down to Kilkenny, so I was off the hook). We'll meet up again before he goes back to Budapest.

I was pretty tired by the time I got home, so retired for a nap. It's now 6.45, the Murray/Gasquet match is on TV in the background (Murray one set down and 4-1 down in the 2nd).

p.s. I've back-blipped Saturday and Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.