New Zealand beach scene

The rain has gone; at least for today, although the forecast is for good weather for the next week at least. A morning run under a cloudy sky, and I went along the path above Snells beach from one end to the other.

All the way along there are pohutukawa of various ages and size, many with bright red flowers, and a lot with no current flowers.

This image is quintessential New Zealand in December. A large pohutukawa on the edge of the beach, laden with bright red flowers. [Bright enough that I can see them; my partial red/green colour blindness means that by looking closely (because I know that there are red flowers) I can see them and almost see their brightness.]

A safe beach where the slope is so gradual, that at low tide, the water is a long way from the shore. Shells and sand below the pohutukawa, get covered with the fallen florets, turning the sand a shade of pink; seen best by me if I cover the tree to remove the confounding effect of the green.

Back to the city this afternoon, a few things to tidy up over the week before we retreat to the Beach House for the break I have earned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.