A summer morning in the city

Back in the city for a few days to finish the work for the year before the end of the week. I left the apartment on my run after sunrise, and on my way through the streets to reach the parkland that makes up the majority of the second half of this course, this was my view of the central city.

Ponsonby ridge intervenes between where I was in West (Grey) Lynn. The land falls into the Grey Lynn valley on the west (towards the camera) and also to the east towhat was a swampy stream running through what is now Queen Street, the "main" street of Auckland City. The four buildings in this photoare the tallest in the city.

I like the effect of the morning sun glinting off the buildings, and also the stripes of cloud, apparently banished by the spike of the Sky Tower. It is some months since I last posted a photo featuring the Sky Tower; almost exactly six months ago I posted a picture of the lit up tower at night.

This is an answer to the weekly challenge which is Winter/Summer.

I am posting later than usual tonight, as I am just back from an enjoyable meal with colleagues. We all worked together for the one employer for almost ten years, and when i left four years ago, I remained a part of this support group, as have two of the other four when they also left. The meal also serves as peer support, very necessary for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.