The sun has risen

In the apparently mistaken belief that this morning was the morning of the summer solstice here in New Zealand, I got myself out of bed early enough to be able to run to the top of Maungawhau in time to witness the moment of the sunrise.

As it happened, I arrived there about ten minutes before the published time of sunrise; not because I ran faster, but because I left with enough time and more to spare. So I sat on a seat beside the Trig station atop Maungawhau, where I was shortly joined by a woman, who like me had a camera. We exchanged words of greeting and admiration for the beautifully clear morning. As sunrise approached, and there were no more waiting for it, I began to figure I might be a day early.

Never mind. It was a beautiful sky as the time of sunrise approached. Then I was greeted by a woman walking her dog. Someone with whom I had worked some years ago. A nice conversation until she took excessively energy filled dog away to try and tire him out.

Then the sun poked above the horizon. I captured a series of eight pictures as the sun rose. I was initially thinking of posting the first glimpse, although the colours are far more dramatic in this which was taken just as the sun was fully above the horizon. Unable to decide, I consulted the oracular S who endorsed this picture as better, even best.

Although this is perhaps not a solstice dawn it is very close to it. The sky is predicted to be very cloudy tomorrow morning. I am therefore happy to submit this as a summer solstice sun rise taking the view that the solstice is a period of days rather than an instant, which it is astronomically.

Astronomically, it is the instant at which the sun is at its most northern (the December solstice), following which it progressively tracks back to the most southerly aspect at the time of the June solstice. Socially, it is about now. (at least says I!)

And on the way down the gradual side, I met and greeted another person with whom I had worked in many roles and many places for many years. A great morning to start the next astronomical year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.