Tara

After a morning spent getting the warrant of fitness for my car, the registration label for S' car, and various tasks at the apartment, I assisted S in packing what we will want for two to three weeks at the beach house. Not long after mid day we headed north.

Arrived here to see the three new trees we have had to plant as replacements for those removed when the renovations were under way. One of the ones taken out was a still young totara, only about a metre from the house. It would have had to go anyway, as totara grow to be very very big. We were required to plant three, and have chosen to plant four. They look good; the other planting is taking hold. In the back, the silverbeet will keep us in greens for the summer! The potatoes were late being planted but are looking good. So satisfying to have a real garden again after eleven years of apartment dwelling.

Late this afternoon, as the tide was just a wee ways out from high tide, I went down to the shore to see what I could find. Heron and oyster catcher (of course x 2). The ubiquitous gulls. Along the edges of the shore the equally ubiquitous pohutukawa in great flower to signal a long hot summer ahead. I was tempted by a shot I took using the telephoto lens to create a very shallow depth of focus, and put it instead in my blipfolio.

Went on further and out on the rocks which separate Snells Beach from "our" beach was a solitary bird; a White-fronted Tern, or Tara (the Maori name). This is the commonest tern on New Zealand's coast. It is characterised by its long black bill, and short red/black legs. As can be seen the tail extends well beyond the wings.

This particular Tara allowed me to get really very close. By the time I took this photo I was perhaps only slightly more than 10 m away. It showed no distress at my proximity, although it was clearly aware of me, and was quite alert. Given the dubious quality of my ability to focus in normal life, I was pleased with the sharpness of this.

Three days until the Sydney branch of the family return visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.