Today is Saturday

And on Saturday's I like to try and take a photo of the sunrise. Had to use the alarm this morning to wake early enough. I ran down to the Wynyard Quarter, to find that (since I was last there for a sunrise) the sun has started rising so much further south that even the changes to the sky are hidden by the central city tower blocks.

I tried to get something that could present as a Saturday Sunrise, for my personal self inflicted challenge. I was actually quite pleased with one photo along Quay Street from the Viaduct Precinct using the Old Ferry Building as a counterpoint to the sunrise affected sky.

However, on the way back to the apartment I saw this traffic lights control box on Nelson Street. This painting allows the viewer to feel as if she is looking out of a whare (house), and then through a gate in the palisade around the outside of the pa (fortified village) towards the hills above which the sky is showing signs of the coming sunrise.

Auckland was known by the tangata whenua (people of this particular land) as Tamaki Makarau, and to be able to blip a sunrise seen from Tamaki Makarau on a Saturday really appealed. It also gives me my first painted box in some time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.