Summer solstice sunset

On 19 December 2014, BlipCentral suggested that we try to get a full day of daylight from around the world on 21 December. The shortest day in the northern hemisphere, and the longest here in the south. The exact time of the solstice in Auckland is after 2300, about three hours after sunset.

I started this morning by taking a run on the beach to get my 39th Sunday sunrise for the year. Despite the clouds, I did manage to take a photo showing the light from the rising sun. It was through a fairly substantial amount of cloud, creating a very silvery effect on the water. I was sorely tempted by that photo.

After spending the morning sweeping a large barrow load of pohutukawa leaves, twigs and stamens off the deck (and into the compost bin), and then some planting this afternoon, I went down the steps to the beach. Partly to see what the light was like. Bright and sunny, and very hot. A couple of good pictures of a young heron demanding to be fed by its parent(s), and another of an adult heron coming in to land.

Back to Auckland, and a pizza meal with a glass of Italian red (for me; pinot gris for S). I had to iron a shirt or three for the last three days of work before Christmas. Just before I started that, I saw that there was developing a fabulous solstice sunset sky. This was the last one I took; just two minutes after the last sight of the disc of the sun as it went behind the low cloud.

Showing up above the buildings of Grey Lynn is a crane. This is the next big apartment block on the Grey Lynn ridge. The Turing Apartments (near us) has been completed and the first residents have moved in. Two other apartment blocks are currently being built with more to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.