From Ponsonby Road 0610 NZST

Today has been an odd day for me. Yesterday was the last day on which I had made appointments, meaning that I am more or less on holiday. Started the day with another early run in case the forecast clouds failed to materialise. Forecast was accurate. Headed for the waterfront by the Viaduct. Took some pictures. On the way back along Ponsonby Road, I looked east and saw this great sky, some 15 minutes after the official time of sunrise.

Our plan for the day was to travel up to Snells Beach in the early afternoon, as a man was coming to install the right blinds. Left time to do some things, quietly and without fuss, in the morning. Suddenly remembered I needed to get a Warrant of Fitness for the car. It used to be a breeze, but car is now 12 years old and getting tired. Failed a couple of things, so had to organise for repairs to be done.

Next task was going to the wonderful local bookshop (Dear Reader) where I got put on a fuss, and helped to buy a couple of presents. Went back home where Young L was being minded by S, and then me as well. He likes multiple input! Showed me how to do the game he has mastered on S' iPad. I really liked how he called the question mark (for getting help) "mystery".

Somewhere in amongst all this I remembered that I had an important teleconference, and did dial in on time. After 20 minutes and not getting a quorum, we had to cancel the meeting. (It was reconvened later when we were on our belated drive north.) Although we were too late to meet with the blinds man, he had done the job and it looked great.

Finished the day here by putting together a barbeque, without (a) making a mess of it or (b) getting tense due to complicated or absent instructions. Quiet sense of achievement. Followed by a pasta and red wine meal. On balance a good day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.