A day of reflection

Christchurch has been hit by earthquakes again today. Two. Both almost 6 on the Richter scale. More liquefaction. No reports of injuries or major damage to buildings. But there must be major destruction of the growing confidence in recovery. I feel for the children whose faith in the stability of their world must be seriously weakened.

A quiet day at the beach house, pottering and tidying and organising and reflecting on how fortunate we are to have this retreat. Such a difference from the inner city where I spend most of the year. I have to say that when I walk in here and look out from the deck over Kawau Bay, the tension leaves me. It is rare that I feel sleepy in the afternoons when in town; common in the first few days here.

This picture is of a reflection of a (sort of) reflection. The angle is north north west, and it was early morning. Although the sky in the east was cloud filled and the sun hidden, it was obviously shining on the clouds to the north north west (sunrise being in the south south east). And the orange light of the morning sun is reflected in the waters of Kawau Bay.

The whole day has been about as still as it was when I took this picture. The morning was very wet, but the rain was almost perpendicular, the wind effect so minimal. Very heavy rain. Very very heavy. Explained the overflowing gutters. Not exactly. Leaves from the pohutukawa a better explanation. A little reflection would have suggested that. In the absence of such reflection, a comment by the perspicacious S led to an investigation and a half hour chore of emptying the gutter (over the deck) of leaves. I have left the other gutters for another time or person, given they are so high.

On further reflection, I don't need the tension of doing it myself. That sort of height (on a ladder) is outside my comfort zone these days. I'll be happier, as this evening with a glass of Longmorn single malt. Even if reflecting on the distressing times in Christchurch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.