While on my runs

By waipushrink

Moonrise over Kawau Bay

Today has been a good day. I had the last appointments for the year yesterday, and can relax now. I still woke before dawn and went out on a gentle run along the edge of the beach. Took a couple of pictures of the sunrise from the Highfield Garden Reserve, which pleased me.

A day of organising for the family gathering over the weekend; mainly dealing with the leaves and general garden chaos from months of minimal attention. Ably helped by the son. In the early evening I heard one of the many local tui in a nearby tree, and went hunting with the telephoto lens. Got some good pictures of a classic "parson bird", with his white collar.

And in the last half hour or so, I have watched the most fabulous moonrise over Kawau Bay from our deck. The colour changed from deep red through yellow to gold and finally silver. Of the many shots I took I like this one the best. I used the smaller lens for this one, and then cropped the image with slight adjustment to emphasise the pohutukawa trees framing the image. I am delighted that the lights of houses on Kawau Island can be seen, as can the darkness of Tauwharanui Peninsula on the left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.