While on my runs

By waipushrink

Is this truly 2010?

I have yet to accommodate to not having to get up early, and was again awake just before sunrise. Headed out for the morning run, looked to the east and saw heavy cloud. Thought that there may not be much to see while on my run.

However, when I got to down to the path along the foreshore of Snells Beach, I realised that the cloud was less dense at the horizon and some sunrise effect was present. Kept going and had another look back to the east over the mudflats, and noticed that the sun was reflected even more in the strips of water than was apparent directly in the sky. This blip is the result of my second attempt (the first, I was breathing too hard), and I did a little editing. Dropped the exposure slightly, increased the contrast, and cropped out some of the extraneous landscape.

I do have to acknowledge that I did not notice the three masted sailing ship beside Kawau Island until I saw the photo; I plead bad astigmatism and ongoing shortsightedness. Nor did I notice the shorebirds on the mudflats until later.

The rest of my day was busy with son and family (two grandchildren). Lovely time at the beach despite intermittent sun. Plenty of family snaps to emote over at leisure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.