Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Anticipation!

There's nothing more exciting than a gift under the tree.

Our family tradition is to open our gifts on Christmas morning...or in the case of mom and I now (in our 'advanced ages'), when she gets home from Mass and I can get ready and get myself over to her house in the afternoon.

It was always about the wonder of Santa Claus...even after we knew he didn't exist. (oops...I didn't mean to spoil that for anyone!)

I try to keep it simple. I sent something small to my three brothers and their wives not expecting anything in return - after all, it's in the giving, not the receiving from which I garner my joy.

I also made a contribution to the local school system for extra-curricular music activities and to the food bank. They say for every dollar you donate, they can buy ten dollars worth of food. I hope I helped in giving some families a happy holiday.

This gift is for my mom. It's a modest token of my love for her. I'm really giving her my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.