Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Road Closed Again

Headed down to the Rest and Be Thankful on our way to the hospital. The police stopped us at Loch Restil. Sadly there had been a serious accident at the bottom of the rest near Ardgarten. As we were turning back the helicopter came in so it must have been very serious indeed. At times like this you just can't moan about the extremely long and arduous detour when you think of the pain of those injured and the deep sadness for their families. I just pray that all involved will make a good recovery.

Our extended journey was through a very beautiful winter wonderland via Tyndrum , Crianlaarich and Ardlui before we rejoined our usual A82 road at Tarbert, Loch Lomond.

Added to our very long jouney was yet another problem. When we finally arrived at the ward in the Royal Infirmary ( after I had checked in to the cathedral House Hotel ) we discovered that John was actually being admitted to the Southern General even though all his clinic visits and preadmission tests had been a the Royal. he hadn't picked up on that change in the letter from the Royal. So it was off to the hotel to apologise and cancel the booking , not sure if I will still be charged for the booking.

Those of you who know the Southern General will also know it is in the middle of nowhere, no hotels , restuarants etc nearby. The nurses were very kind and gave me directions back to Paisley Road West, so I am now staying at the Quay area in a cheap and cheerful Etap, comfortable, warm and clean and I feel very safe at night when I head out for something to eat on my own.

Just as well I can be very pragmatic and make the best of things.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.