Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Pixellated priest

Firstly, thanks very much to everyone who stopped by yesterday to help me celebrate my 200th blip, your messages meant a lot to me.

Today it's back to business as usual! I met up with Notebooker for a spot of lunch and some culture.

Since finding out, last week, about the new work by Banksy in the Walker Art Gallery I've been very keen to go along and see it for myself and today was the day.

The piece is called 'Cardinal Sin' and the gallery information has the following to say about it:

"This replica 18th-century stone bust has been 'pixellated' by the renowned graffiti artist Banksy. The result is believed to be a comment on crimes perpetrated by the church, most recently the abuse scandal and it's subsequent cover-up.

Sawn-off statue, bathroom tiles and superglue, made in 2011."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.