Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Dotting the i's

I've mentioned the ongoing construction of Bradford's City Park a lot over the year and a bit that I've been doing this blog, partly because it's such a big project, and partly because I walk through and round the site every day that I go to work.

As a reminder, in February, the construction site looked like this, and more recently were were stunned by the arrival of laser pylons straight out of Flash Gordon.

The works have been much delayed, and it seems like forever since we had the run of Centenary Square, but over the last month there have finally been signs that it is on the verge of completion. Sculptures have been installed, fountains tested and soft landscaping planted. Looking at it today, I can almost believe that it will be ready by Christmas, but it was my last day at work for a while, so it may be a fortnight before I see it again. In some ways I'll be sad if I'm not there on the day that the barriers are taken down, when we'll be able to go and paddle in admire the reflecting pool at close quarters.

I'm sure @appertunity, as the chief Blipfoto chronicler of urban Bradford, will be there to capture the moment, but for now I'll just have to leave you with the installation of the nice big sign, that shows the City Park has nearly arrived. You also get another nice view of the Alhambra, and to the right of it you can the dark alley where yesterday's 'Sleeping Beauty' was taken. No doubt in the New Year I will be exporing all the photographic possibilities afforded by the new space.

creating ~ a new park ~ time ~ to dot~ the i's

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.