Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

What more could a man want for Christmas?

Today's blip could have been so many things. It could have been a road roller, a pair of swans, a rather nice wood engraving of a star, people in the gym, or a ham. But, sadly, it couldn't be the carrot cake that sank in the middle. That is far too sad-looking to blip (although I'm sure it will taste just fine).

As it turns out it's none of these things because today is the day that our youngest son, George, finished the compost bins and what a fine pair of bins they are. OK it's not a sunset or anything remarkable as an image, but as far as I'm concerned it's a work of art.

The dog sneaked in to the picture because she was waiting for the garden fork to move. I'm not sure why, but she likes to attack gardening tools. I'm pleased as punch with these bins. I'd been looking at the wonky old bins all summer long, knowing it was a job that needed doing. It didn't get done and that seemed to be that for another year...until George came home and built the best Christmas present any man could ask for.

So Christmas has arrived early this year and tonight it will really get in to the swing when we'll be joined by all the boys - a little unexpectedly as we thought they were coming tomorrow - but it's even better that they'll be here sooner.

It's an early start tomorrow - not least because I can't wait to pull back the curtains and see the bins. I need to get over to Guildford for some flowers - I love to get red tulips at Christmas - and to pass by the tip, if there's a chance, to dump what's left of the old bins. George salvaged some bits for the front so it keeps the "old bin look" that I like.

Tomorrow we have more family for lunch - my brother, his wife, nephew, his wife, and their two children. The place will be wrecked before Christmas proper has begun. I hope they'll like the carrot cake.

I almost forgot. If you happened to read my blip yesterday and you were not curious enough to Google the answer, you might find the letters TGFOP on a tea chest denoting Tippy Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe. That's pretty good but you might hold out for SFTGFOP, all explained here for tea addicts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.