Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Pheasant Lunch

Today was the day of the Christmas lunch that Scharwenka and I have together each year!

It was also the Wonderspouse's last day at work, so the last early alarm of the year. I was in the local Co-op just after 7, getting the last bits and pieces for our lunch, and picking up a few bits the Wonderspouse and I needed to get us through to our planned Christmas shop later in the week.

Afterwards I came home and spent some considerable time finding the dining table. The Wonderspouse and I always eat on our sofas, so the table tends to get used as a dumping ground for all sorts of stuff. I cleaned and sorted, sorted and cleaned, did a bit of admin work at my desk, then went to collect Scharwenka from the bus stop (he's still carless after his was written off in France).

So, Scharwenka and I spent the next hour or so making our traditional pheasant lunch. Neither of us is used to cooking, since our spouses both cook for us, but, between us, we managed to make a rather splendid roast with veg and so on. We also had smoked salmon for starters and a rather nice date and walnut pudding we'd bought on a shopping expotition the previous week.

To accompany the meal, Scharwenka provided some very nice liquid refreshment. First, some Pinot Grigio, then this exceedingly splendid Chateau d'Angludet 1995 Margaux - absolutely delicious!

I provided a novelty Christmas tree for the table!

Scharwenka departed for home in the early evening after a lovely day, and I picked the Wonderspouse up from the bus stop an hour or so later.

Finally, we were on holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.