Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Rubbish Snow!

We woke to a silent eerie world. Nothing moving. Nobody about. Abandoned van on the road outside our house. The landing is very dark because the skylights are covered over with snow. The sound is all muffled by the white stuff.

We have opened the door just twice today. Once for Tiggy and Felix to establish that, much as they hate it, they would have to use the litterbox. And once for me to go out to take a couple of photos.

I didn't go far. I had enough snow adventures yesterday to last me a lifetime. Just went out to take this picture, then retreated back indoors, where the heating is doing its level best to make the house warm enough for us.

The Wonderspouse's reading gig was cancelled. There are no buses, no vehicles, no people around. It is just white, and white, and more white. We have a foot and a half of lying snow on the "lawn" and it has drifted up to 3 feet by the garden wall. I keep hoping to hear sweeping orchestral music and to see Jack Hall trekking past when I look out of the window, but so far it's just whiteness and silence.

So, today has been a day of videos and sleeping on the sofa. I've also started on the mountain of dirty washing that is currently filling the kitchen floor!

And now, it's Sports Personality of the Year, then The Apprentice Final. And wine, and food.

It's SOOOOOO good to be home. Can't tell you how grateful I am to be here after yesterday's "adventures".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.