Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Prada moment

And still the checklist isn't entirely checked. First item to bite the dust was the intended haircut. I was put off by the numbers waiting, and just moved on, stopping off to pick up my cleaning/laundry on the way in to town. Traffic was surprisingly light on the way in, but not at all light on the way back (it took half an hour to get out of the car park around 5:00 pm).

I was on a bit of a mission, trying to find a better alternative version of something I'd already got elsewhere. It took three attempts in three different places, but finally what I ended up with satisfied me better than what I'd had before. A few other stop-offs took much longer than they might have because of the long queues at the checkouts, but gradually, bit by bit, the checklist got checked.

I needed lunch after all the hustle and bustle, but it took three attempts before I found somewhere which could accommodate me (nothing special, just a Chinese on Wicklow Street -- which, a bit meanly, weren't doing their set menu today, only à la carte). A return to a previous shop to get what I should have got the first time, and then t was time for that 30-minute crawl getting out of the car park (there certainly wasn't any sign of a recession around town today). I needed a nap when I got home, and the rest of the evening has been spent lazily (even though I know I should have at least begun wrapping things). And so Christmas Eve Eve comes to a close. (For some reason I find it very confusing this year because Christmas falls on a Sunday. I feel this should actually be Christmas Eve.)

The blip dates from early in the day, just as I came out of the Brown Thomas car park. The illuminated ad display was right in front of me, and so were the two girls. I prayed that they wouldn't move away as I waited for the traffic to clear. They didn't.

Some rejects:
On top of the world. Part of the BT car park.
Baubles. Spotted on one of the upper floors in Stephen's Green Shopping Centre. It was the reflection in the rail which caught my eye.
On its head. Looking up at reflections in the new(ish) building on the corner of South King Street and Clarendon Row.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.