Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Homage to Chaiselongue

It worked! The light's back! Just one day after Solstice, and suddenly there is sunshine, blue sky, shadows, and color! What joy. So today, no gothic memories, no parables or poems, no deep, throbbing meanings, not even any politics. Only pure gratitude. Pure love for the miracle of light. Shadow. Color. Blue Sky. And Blipfriends.

This is the first of what I intend to be a series of Homage to Blipfriends (an idea taken from Blouseybrown, who did one for me long ago), and it's for Chaiselongue, who was one of my very first--we've been together almost from the beginning, which is going on two years now, although I have accumulated far fewer than 365 blips. (I excuse myself by reliance on Emerson, who said consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.) This has to be hers because it's a restaurant called the Marrakesh, and because it's an architectural detail taken looking up, with sunshine, shadows, colors and textures. She does all of that so well.

Because it could be months before I see the sun again, I decided to post a Blipfolio of Homage to a few other Blipfriends:

For Goatee and Folkie Booknerd, a bronze statue of St. Frances, he and the birds basking and grinning into the sun.

For the Curator, who bought me a gift subscription to Blip and thus must be held fully responsible for my excesses, this shiny monochrome of a chain and its shadow. A full homage will involve a text with puns and brilliant wordplay, but that will have to wait.

For the loving couples (you know who you are), a splendid sun-bleached winter tree, complementing itself with roundness and diagonals, with fullness and emptiness, with waxing and waning, with ebb and flow, as all couples must do.

And for those of us who stand alone (we are legion), a chimney outstanding all by itself. This one is also for my newest Blipfriend, PaulFS, who is especially good with chimneys, even though he didn't mean to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.