Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Carols for Christmas Eve

Happy Christmas everyone!

Shere is a small but very picturesque village, reputedly the most photographed in Britain for it's quaint aspect and superb 12th and 13th century cottages that are all conserved in pristine condition.

Every year a carol service is held on Christmas Eve which, until today, I'm ashamed to say I'd never been to. A friend suggested it and I took the camera hoping to get my blip for today.

Expecting a small choir a few people in the village square, We were in for a surprise.
There must have been well over a thousand people, all singing their hearts out to all our most cherished carols.
The local Rector led and conducted from a makeshift podium. The young and the old, the obviously moneyed and the obviously poor.. everybody sang. Some verses were sung in turn by local groups , others by age or gender and the competition was evident as to who gave their best efforts.

Absolutely heart warming.. I'd recommend it to anyone.
It has certainly made my Christmas.

Everyone to bed. Santas on his way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.