Naturelover

By Naturelover

Hobby Number One

For the past 20 years I have been in love with oil painting. But not on a canvas. I've done very few on anything but rocks or glass. My husband and I are always on the look-out for the perfect rock...the right size, the right texture, and of course, the straightest bottom because he creates the wooden display stands that the artwork sits upon.
Lighthouses have always been a favorite subject for me, and this one in particular holds a special place in my heart.
My husband and I were on vacation, and the beach behind this lighthouse was a gold mine of rocks. We spent a perfect day here, only to head straight to a hospital 6 hours away that night so we could be with my mother as she passed away.
I will always believe she gave me that perfect day to help me through the days to come.
My paintings tend to be small as I enjoy creating miniature landscapes and seascapes.
If I number my hobbies by the amount of time they consume, this has to be number one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.