Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Strike!

Well there were many today...and not by me. I did manage one but I'm pretty rubbish at ten-pin bowling.

I back-blipped the 27th. Head there if you want to see how alike H and Noah are to their cousins!

H decided he wanted to bowl today so we booked a couple of games. Noah is smitten. he loved all the music, the sounds, the balls, and the fact that he could run around like a lunatic and no-one batted an eyelid.

Bob is uber-competitive and would no more let the children win than run naked through the high street with bells attached to his manhood. So I secretly thought I'd let H beat me in at least one game.

Who was I kidding? He wiped the floor with me! I only just about managed to compete with Noah. Ok Noodles did use a frame and buffers and had plenty of help from big brother but even so...sheesh...he's two!

At one point H turned to me and asked, completely innocently, "Would you like to use the frame too mummy? I'm sure Noah wouldn't mind!" Much to amusement of the punters in the next lane.

Total humiliation was mine.

At least I got a blip out of it. I was practising balancing ambient light and foreground action in manual. I took my old Tamron 28-300mm VC with me. It's not bad on the full frame camera. Lightweight, and the vibration compensation really helps when you haven't got a tripod. It won't replace my primes but as a 'useful carry-about' it earns its place.

I've been looking back through my journal. It's so nice to see what I was doing and what was happening. Little things I'd forgotten about brought a smile to my face. Since I completed my 365 I've not blipped every day and I found myself wondering what happened on those blank days. I may have to start blipping daily again...just for the written record.



Edit: Just to add that H has just had a night terror again. He doesn't remember them the following morning while I am generally traumatised! As night terrors go though this one wasn't too bad.

He came into my office and grabbed me by the arms. His eyes were wide and staring (that's the freaky bit). "I can't find them," he said. "You have to help me, I can't find them!"

"Find what darling?"

"The things."

"What things?"

"The annoying things."

"What are they like."

"They're annoying. Come with me, PLEASE."

So I guided him back to bed, told him I'd found his comforter and handed it to him.

"Very annoying..." he murmured as he drifted back off to the land of Nod.

So not too bad by H's standards. He has been known to scream and flail and demand that we help him because monsters are eating his skin...*That's* super-freaky, especially at 2am. We've already established recently that I'm not at my best in the early hours of the morning! So I'm grateful that this time the problem was just an annoying item or items of unknown origin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.