Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Shape through ages

I was checking out my little pond today.
It's a wildlife pond and contains no fish

I dug it out about 18 months ago and started it off with a few buckets of water from a local stream and another couple of buckets full of silt and mashed up 'weeds' from a local pond that was being cleared.

Is the definition of the word weed ,' if you want it, it is a plant, if you don't, it's a weed'? I really don't want the Australian swamp stonecrop which is a major invasive species but almost anything else goes. The pond is now overcrowded with plants and harbours newts, snails and dragonfly larvae. I know It will soon find it's own balance with very little help from me.
The Moor hen tucks into excess vegetation, the snails eat rotting vegetation creating fine silt for insect larvae to live in, the newts and birds keep the snails under control and so life in the pond goes on.

I decided to borrow one of the young Ramshorn snails from the pond this evening to demonstrate that if a shape is right, nature doesn't fix it. The ammonites on the Moroccan fossil plate are 360 million years old... the Ramshorn snail less than a year. The shape is identical.

Mother nature goes on regardless of the human race!
The snail is back in it's pond now, unharmed.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.