Capital adventures

By marchmont

Diary

I started keeping a diary as a teenager, these 5 year ones. Then I stopped and then I started and then I stopped again and only kept a journal for special things, births of sons, overseas travel and then I started again and I have quite a few completed ones now. That means they have charted the ups and downs in the changes and challenges in my life since February 2007. M used to hate when I could refer to a diary and spout what had happened, what had been said, how I had been abused.

Of course I'm not good at writing it every night. Often it's a couple of weeks at a time and since I started blip that's been even more the case. I should really blip and write the diary at the same time.

This is 2011's battered and bashed diary and tonight's task is to write up the last 3 and a half weeks before the end of the year. I've had the chair since I was a teenager. It was from a bond in Leith, probably an executive apartment now. I'm very attached to it - it's gone from Leith to Colinton, to Huntly, to Kemnay to Kintore, to Inverurie to Montgaillard and now back to Edinburgh - just like me in fact! (except I started at the Elsie Inglis and then Meadowbank before I got as far as Leith).

Meanwhile it's Friday and Mr Tesco came - again, this time bearing Earl Grey tea (my mistake, should have been English Breakfast), and also Gordon's, Schweppes (full leaded, not that aspartame loaded stuff) and nuts and raisins. Yippee - Friday night and a G&T or 2 or 3!

Enjoy yours .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.