New Year's day outside the Scottish parliament

I took part in Scotland The World Over!
Edinburgh consigned 2011 to the history books with a belter of firework power. To his Lordship and I half a mile away with our slippers on, it sounded like the city was under siege by an army with terrifying fire power.

I'm almost sorry I didn't go to see the firework display, but who can resist yet another evening of Morecambe and Wise? If I never see Angela Rippon's long legs again it will be too soon.
It's not that I'm jealous or that she can kick vertically and hit her nose, it's just that I've been seeing them for 40 years now, and they look the same as ever.
No, I'm very happy to have my ones, old, short and stout, but reliable for over decades of hard usage.

We treated ourselves this morning to another celebratory breakfast at our local Marriott, but this time with the proviso that we payed; you can get too much of a good thing. I just wish I could eat enough early in the day to justify the expense, but I did what I could and his Lordship did even better; so that's one tentative New Year Resolution 'oot the windae' before 2012 is nine hours old

With a hike round Arthur Seat to atone and a mingling with the tourists up the Royal Mile, we are now home and preparing a meal for friends this evening.
This eating frenzy of a week must stop soon so that we can look forward to a leaner 2012. Unfortunately we still have an exclusive box of chocolates from Cocoa Mountain to eat first. Ah well, who could refuse?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.