Here's One I Didn't Made Yesterday..

but 32 years ago.

It's been a long time since the sun beat me to rising, but such was last night with its food and merriment , not to mention the demon drink, that the sun was well up and the world bathed in a deceptive warm glow before his Lordship and I could face the day upright.

Not that drink was my problem as I had been a particularly abstemious hostess with my glasses of Schloer in order not to do anything dire with the meal; but I did have a lot of rich food and a tumbler full of Baileys at the end.
His Lordship not only kept pace with our guests in the consumption of wine, but very nobly stayed up extra late to do the clearing up.

January 2nd is a rotten day to have a birthday: too near Christmas for largesse in giving and without the glamour of New Year's Day.
It is the birthday of daughter#5 who declined to arrive before Christmas as was supposed and waited until the world had shut down and only the most junior of doctors had drawn the short straw for being on duty.

Yet she managed to arrange for me to have my own little centre stage drama in a building which no longer exists not 50 yards from the Dower House. Happily for me, all was well in the end, and she now has a small son whose birthday is tomorrow, a day perhaps marginally better than the 2nd.

This lazy , please-don't make-me go-outside- and-look-for-a- blip- in- the- cold- today image is exactly what it says on the tin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.