2012 - 366 days long.

I took part in Scotland The World Over, again! This is taken on a 2012 diary, but you can't see the '2012'!

A veil is best cast over last night, suffice it to say that a) I resorted to checking my blip subscriptions on my phone at the dinner table (how sad is that?), b) I was home in bed, by 11.45 p.m. and heard, but didn't see the fireworks and c) I'm REALLY glad I didn't splash out on a new outfit (I wore last year's top and a calf length black floaty skirt, once size too small and not done up fully at the waist, if you're interested).

F came home at 5, M at 7 - a veil is best cast over their New Year too.

When I was a teenager I used to write gushy things like 'this was my best New Year EVER'. I think 2011/2012 counts as the worst ever, ever, ever. Can't remember when I was last in bed before 12 at new year.

But this is a new year, a new start. I spent most of the morning and half the afternoon working out and sending the financial stuff etc etc to my lawyer, and writing to various firms who need to send me light parts, receipts and guarantees.

After F got up around 3 we shared experiences (M being comatose) and then headed off to my parents with oatcakes as a first footing present - not very traditional but all I could lay my hands on. No word from #1 son or #2 son. My new year's resolution - not to chase after them, to let them lead their own lives, they are adults after all. So I'm not phoning #2 son.

It turned out my niece and her partner were going to call in on their way back to Newcastle so it was good to see them. Her birthday is next Sunday.

Now I'm about to watch 'Sherlock' having had something to eat, listened to Will and Nic's wedding on 'The Archers', thinking I need to take my ring off - AGAIN and realising that I have lost a third ear-ring owing to wearing a woolly scarf round my neck, this time a good one, not a Santa one. Excuse for buying some more really.

Plus ca change, plus ca le meme chose!!

Happy, happy New Year mes amis!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.