Happy Birthday

yes it's that day again, another year older and closer to the bus pass and the pension (except that the Government keeps moving the goalposts on these). Turns out I share the day with Lady Findhorn's daughter #5 but she's a lot younger than me, closer in age to M's G and #1 daughter in law and #1 son.

And like Lady F's family this is birthday week in our family too. Why do they come in clutches, like buses? Today - me, tomorrow dad down the road(+30), Thursday my uncle in Oz (+22) Saturday my nieces by marriage up north (-20), Sunday my niece and god daughter in Newcastle (-30). And then my paternal grandmother was Boxing Day (+60), but she's been dead a long time.

Since no one was up to bring me breakfast in bed (it used to be a tradition, breakfast in bed with D getting the boys organised to bring through the cards and presents) I stayed in bed with Molly and wrote info about charitable status for the choir. Not really exciting, but warm.

A foray to JL to return some bedding and... I bought a sideboard! It is the right size for the space in the hall and although normally flat pack this clearance one is made up so will arrive next Monday complete.

Then to the National Portrait Gallery which was hooching, clearly a hit with visitors and families. Edinburgh is a great place to live. However, I think they will have to sort out the cafe - long queues while they make the espressos.

When I came out it was raining and windy so I had a side trip to Jenners to look for mirrors. I never found them. Despite many attempts I still can't find my way round that store.

Back home and I've blown out the candles, twice. We haven't cut the cake though. (I bought it myself, well every little helps). I've made chocolate mousse for tea, bit too chocolatey I think, and M and F have volunteered to cook, steak. #2 son is coming as well. He has a sore throat so I've only had texts from him today. Haven't managed to raise the KL 2 although #1 daughter in law did send a text. So so far I have 4 cards, 2 e-cards, 2 presents (although I think there is some money coming too0 and half a drill that I got on Christmas Day, 3 texts, and 3 phone calls.

I am about to open the fizz, a cheeky little Lindauer Brut. So that's it, the start of another year the final one of my 6th decade!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.