Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Dog paddle

Our old Westie, Dougie, hates water, but Pippa, the young Jack Russell seems happy wading through puddles and there were plenty of puddles on the military land near Pirbright after heavy rain yesterday. This is becoming a favourite stomping ground since there's undulating ground and some open spaces between the clumps of tress.

I came out today without the lens I tend to use most of the time so stuck on a long lens and really enjoyed some of the results. I had a nice picture of Dougie, the Westie, who is particularly camera shy and who tends to walk everywhere with his nose to the ground, and I played around with the settings to get a bit of bokeh on a picture of Gill although the image itself was not quite as sharp as I was seeking. I should have used the monopod to eliminate any shake.

I have to get down to some work for the rest of the week so the blips will have to be quickie blips in the next few days. I persuaded youngest son George to start blipping with the camera he got for Christmas and he produced a shot of our garden today that I just couldn't fathom until he told me he'd used it upside down.

Fair enough, I thought. I wouldn't have done that as it seems like breaking the rules, but what rules? It's odd how we can begin to impose conventions on the way we behave as we age - or at least I do, I suppose. I wouldn't presume to speak for the rest of my generation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.