Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

After the storm, Pirbright

I'll admit I didn't pay much attention to the weather forecast last night but I thought all the mucky stuff was going to be up north and Scotland. Not so. We awoke to a raging gale with heavy rain and I Googled something like "photographing in rain" and found a Youtube video of a chap advising to take wellies, a towel and a brolly - fine but not what I had in mind.

Anyway the storm cleared and I went out in to the garden and it was the most glorious sunshine and blue sky so I blipped some blossom that would have been fine on any other day but I remembered an image I'd taken of the Stars and Stripes in the American Military Cemetery in Brookwood. It's been niggling me because I regretted not blipping it - we must all do that sometimes, I guess.

So I got in the car and dashed over to Brookwood only the clouds were closing in on the way and when I got there the blue sky had gone. I snapped away all the same but then the battery went and I'd forgotten to bring the spare in my haste. Doh!

Driving back to Pirbright, there was a big sky so I stopped and took out the little Lumix that has done the business so many times now. I was looking at the sky then noticed a giant puddle on the green. What with the big puddle and big sky it was hard to fit it all in. So neither the blossom nor the flag made it. But there's still 362 days left, so I'm sure there'll be another time. I'm fascinated by the cemetery and what it represents. I can never go there without being moved by the sacrifices made in the two great wars to preserve our way of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.