Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Chess players in Cuba

No, I have not been translated back to Cuba for the day! This is an image I've been working on today in order to produce a print for my class tomorrow.

When I saw these chess players in Trinidad in Cuba, I thought they made a strong image. When I came to process the image I was not so sure. How could I encourage the viewer to see that the chess game was the focal point, with all the other competing images around about? I have used a technique called nostalgic glow on all but the players and the board. This creates a dreamy, slightly blurred effect. I'm not sure you can see it in this image.

I don't think a photograph of the print is a good way to show all this, especially a photo taken late at night by flash when the photographer is tired. It's all I have for the day.......

In Cuba I saw people playing chess, draughts and dominoes in their lunch break, after work and on street corners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.