Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Boots & Bread

So, it was finally time to go back to work. The 6.00 alarm returned, the quick get up and breakfast, and the journey to the bus stop.

After dropping the Wonderspouse off, I came home, and suddenly realised just how much I have to do at home to get stuff sorted out, and how much has just been left for weeks and weeks while I've been doing the CELTA.

I also felt utterly exhausted. My body hasn't yet caught up from what I put it through in the autumn, and my chest has continued to be bad.

So, against all my instincts, which were telling me to get on with work, I ended up spending quite a lot of today asleep. I keep forgetting that I'm not 20, not in perfect health, and don't have infinite amounts of energy!

I'm not the only one who's a bit creaky either. The Wonderspouse finally went and got some "better shoes" today, as instructed by the doctor last week. He's hoping this will help sort out his foot problems. It had better work - "better shoes" are not cheap (although he did find some in the sale).

And, in true Wonderspouse style, he picked up some bread on the way home and just shoved it in with the newly acquired footwear!

We had a quiet evening and an early night! It'll be a while before we're fully adjusted to the work schedule again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.