A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

"So you calling me an Ass?"

Today was another hectic day.
We moved to our home in Co.Durham some five years ago but as yet, I still haven't managed to move to a new dental practice.This resulted in and hour and a half round trip today,back to my friendly dentist in Redcar.The other evening, one of my molars decided to crumble and resulted in a paralysed tongue, which also seemed to be growing in size at the same rate as Pinocchio's nose! I was duly informed that my tongue had ulcerated where it was catching on the broken tooth.Filling was completed and I was on my way to my next appointment.
When we were getting married someMANY years ago, I decided to splash out on a top hairdresser (of the era) for my BIG day!He suggested that my long tresses were too heavy to take a soft curl, so why didn't I try a new style and highlights?I have to say, he 'scissorhanded' his way to the most amazing cut - a short bob, which withstood the strongest Westerly wind.
However, he then proceeded to place me in the care of a junior member of staff.The cap was removed and heaven forbid - my hair was PURE WHITE!! I was seen to streak out of the shop, cape still tied around my shoulders , without paying and in floods of tears.
My fiance had been working in Canada and was due to be picked up at the airport the following day.Some dozen or so bottles of hairdye later, I was still white as whipped cream WITHOUT the cherry on the top and NOT AT ALL looking my age!! I vividly recall turning up at the airport on a blistering hot day, wearing a light, floral, summer dress and sporting my grandmothers headscarf, which was tightly tied under my chin and pulled down over my furled brow.This left me with a life long FEAR of hairdressers!Dentists ?no problem but hairdressers-------ARGH!!!!!!
So, it was also a day to return to the security of the salon in Redcar this afternoon ,a little 'corner shop' style business, where they know me well and calm my nerves with a nice warm cuppa (with milk ) and a biscuit or two.Day done and dusted.
Between appointments, I drove to the tiny village of Kirkleatham, which lies just outside the town, to take some pics of the sites it has to offer - the village church with crypt,the Almshouses, the Old Hall which is now a museum.Got some nice shots but I plumped for this photo instead which I found quite amusing.
I pulled up in the car,wound down the window and within seconds, an entire team of donkeys headed in my direction.I presume they are the same donkeys as are seen on the beach during the Summer months.They were looking to be fed and I had nothing to give them.I suppose they have grown accustomed to being given tit bits by local children who visit the play area and Owl Centre in the village.This one showed how intelligent donkeys really are, by fitting a round head into a rectangular space.It made me chuckle.Hope you like it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.