Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Susan's Chocs

A long-established tradition, going back to when my mum was alive, has been that the next-door neighbours on either side always got a box of biscuits for Christmas (posh Belgian ones, of course!), and I've continued that tradition -- until this year, when my super friends Derek & Rita introduced me to Chez Emily and their chocolate boutique in Ashbourne. As soon as I went in the door I knew that biscuits just wouldn't cut it any more, and that a box of Chez Emily chocolates was the way to go this year.

I duly handed over the chocs on Christmas Eve and thought no more of it until Tuesday when I called in to Susan, my semi-D neighbour, about our TV/internet problem after the 'storm'. That's when she told me she wanted me to call in some evening for the cutting of the ribbon and the official opening of the box of chocolates. Tonight was the night. God bless her, she'd stocked up a trolly with snacks and nibblies and all sorts, which I had to turn down because I'd had a meal before I went in. Then she insisted on capturing the moment on film and got out one of those throw-away Kodak cameras. But it refused to cooperate and I nipped back in for my iPhone instead.

I'm not saying that there's anything wrong with Susan's photo of me actually cutting the ribbon, but I insisted on pointing the camera at her also, and this seemed much more appropriate as tonight's blip than a boring old shot of DS. We had a grand old time together, with a bit of vodka and a bit of gin included in the mix. She was in great form, and we nattered away non-stop for a couple of hours before I had to admit defeat and take the perilous journey back home again.

----------------------------------
p.s. Finally, I've sorted myself out and have back-blipped to fill in the last of the Christmas gap. It's suitable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.