Hood Green - evening light

My first question is - does this look over-saturated?

The afternoon light was very good but the algorithm in my Panasonic camera tends to render this kind of light very magenta/ orange. I'm currently learning to use Lightroom, which I like very much, and it's a bit like giving me an artists palette because it's possible to tweak endlessly. I think I know how some landscape photographers build on the natural light to produce those stunning images. My concern is not to over do it and make it look totally un-natural - and you know what it's like, once you've looked at something for a while you stop being able to see.

It's been a funny day today. I started by changing some of the wall display round as I'd collected my prints from the exhibition yesterday. We then had an agonise over an electricity bill of £283 for next door. (This has been ongoing since before Christmas.) Fortunately Ann managed to speak to a very sensible woman in customer services today who said there was no way we could have used that amount of electricity in two days and anyway why would we give a reading that meant we would have to pay them money! Huge sigh of relief at this point (why didn't we get to speak to this woman before Christmas).

To do something active I went off to do a bit of ironing and was able to follow this up with a bit of thinking about my next print project and whether I had any images that were worthy of submitting to our next club print competition. I'm beginning to resent all this printing out of images but will probably produce a couple of A4 (as opposed to A3) prints because the club has introduced a critique evening after each competition and it's a bit of a moot point about whether it will be a success or not.

Then finally the sun came out. Wonderful!! So I made a quick trip in the direction of Worsbrough Reservoir but ended up at Hood Green because the light was going quickly.

Photo sorting time again now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.