Today's Special

By Connections

My First Blip Milestone!

To mark this important occasion, I tried making an Aztec temple out of 80 tiny squares of 65% organic (Columbian) Fair Trade dark chocolate, surrounded by 20 tiny milk chocolate snowmen, all from Chocolate Necessities (of course), but found that project beyond my limited construction skills. (Don't worry, nothing will go to waste? to waist, quite possibiy.)

So I settled for a simpler 100th image, one even more in keeping with my Blip name and activities.

The 1 is an organic carrot from a five pound bag that I bought at the Hopewell Farms stall at the Bellingham Farmers Market on December 17, the last market day of the 2011 season. They still taste delicious!

The zeros are hard red wheat berries grown in the Nooksack River valley by Nooksack 9 Fruits and Veggies, another local organic farm. Locally grown grain is a new and exciting crop! I bought a bag of their "River Bottom Grains" earlier in the market season. One cup of wheat berries cooked in three cups of water for 40-50 minutes yields a toothsome, tasty alternative to rice, and delicious in soups and salads, as well.

Thanks first to Blip Central for making it possible for people all over the world to share their photos and words on this site, forging new friendships and expanding their horizons.

Thanks next to those who subscribe to my journal, particularly those who comment, some of whom I knew before joining Blipfoto, who encouraged me to sign up, and others whom I now think of as friends, even though we've never met face-to-face. I'm also grateful for those who stop by my journal now and then, and hope you enjoy what you see.

Most of all, my thanks to Pilipo, who patiently encouraged me to join him in this great community, unstintingly offers technical help when I flounder, and is a never-ending source of inspiration and joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.