Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yowza!

Thanks for being so supportive on last night's desperation blip! My hubs has had those little wooden ducks (which he tells me are collector's items... hmph) for ages. They sit on the shelf, looking ... well, wooden, but he treasures them. He's been wanting me to blip them for ages (really, honey... Really?) so last night was the time.

Busy day today, but I made time for a quick run over to the lake and was rewarded by seeing these two swans! The swans here aren't tame, so it is really quite difficult to get anywhere close enough for a shot. I used the max zoom and then cropped and vignetted this. Not a perfect shot, but DAMN I love to see swans!! Usually they are way too far out on the lake to get a shot, but today the ice was keeping them closer to the stream that feeds the lake. Lucky me. They could see me and were wary, staying as far out as possible. The lake is surrounded by marsh and reeds, not something to traverse without hip waders and a good sense of balance (neither of which I possess.)

So, color me happy today - I got my swans and all is right in my world. Well, except that the hubs left for FL this morning so the cats and I are on our own tonight and tomorrow night. Thursday I'll fly to Alabama to meet him and have a visit with my in-laws. My sister-in-law has been prepping their parakeet, Petey, for a photo shoot! I've never photographed a domesticated bird before, so can't wait. There will be wine, so who knows whether I'll get pictures or undecipherable blobs... But I digress.

Happy Tuesday, blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.