Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Have you SEEN the size of my feet???

As often as I see mourning doves here on our property, I have really never noticed their feet. How did I miss that? I mean, seriously, look at these things! Go ahead, look LARGE - and you will also notice that she has a spot of pink on her cheeks. I'm not sure, but I think she's blushing! BTW, I'm tagging this for the BlipBigYear Challenge, but just for my reference. NatureLover blipped a gorgeous mourning dove last week for the "official" spot in the challenge.

I was getting ready to go out in the woods behind the house this morning to put down some dried corn ... when I saw that there were 23 wild turkeys scavenging around in the woods. I took a gazillion shots, none of them particularly good because of the low light. So, I will wait for a better day to show your the bird that very nearly became our national bird. This rafter of turkeys visits fairly often, coming silently out of the woods like giant creatures from another time. One of the hens is lame and gimps along, but she seems to be doing well and looks healthy other than the limp.

Three redpolls showed up today at the feeders - what a joy! There is also a lone tree sparrow here every day - I wanted to blip him today but just couldn't get a good shot. I don't think anyone has blipped one yet for the challenge so maybe I will be the first.

Hubs will be home Sunday - yay! And it is almost the weekend again - yay! And Dudley Squirrel spent the day in the Spotlight - yay! Thank you - you overwhelm me with your wonderful words of support. I particularly appreciate those of you who took the extra time to have a look at the landscapes and give me some feedback. I have much to learn ... but it's all so much fun!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.