Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bird Legs

I've been obsessed with photographing birds in flight lately so I spent some time with my camera aimed at the thistle feeder, waiting for action. And, as is usually the case, it didn't take long for a charm of finches to show up, mixed gold and house finches. So, snap, snap, snap. Then delete, delete, delete. More snap, snap, snap. (Do I need to continue?) Several hundred shots, a handful of keepers. This one actually made me laugh because I've never caught a finch with the legs extended this way - it's pretty funny looking. Reminds me of that old school-yard taunt "bird legs!"

By the way, this is a House Finch (carpadacus mexicanus) and it has already been blipped for the BlipBigYear Challenge. It is a very common bird throughout most of the United states and one that readily comes to feeders all year.
The males, in this shot, have red heads and breasts and a splash of red at the base of the tail, whereas the females are rather brown and plain.

Coop (my name for the Cooper's Hawk who seems to have claimed our back woods, was out there again today. I can always tell when something is amiss because all the birds vacate the feeders in one big whoosh of flight. Those who don't get out in the initial flurry, freeze wherever they are, staying motionless. This is behavior I have observed many times, without ever seeing the cause of it until recently. So when the exodus occurred today, I quickly peered up into the trees and there he was! So, now I wonder just how long he's been visiting our property? My guess is that he's been back there for months and I just never saw him. He blends perfectly into the trees so you could stare right at the branch he's perched on and never see him. I'm sure he's gotten some of the backyard birds - how could he not? Makes me wonder about the female red-bellied woodpecker, who I have not seen in a couple of months.

Well, enough of the grim realities of nature. Hubs arrived in Alabama yesterday and will spend a couple of days with the family down there. He face-timed me yesterday from his parents house so I got to see my MIL and FIL. It is sad that my MIL has no recollection of her trip up here just a few short months ago - this is one of the heartbreaks of Alzheimer's. This morning, I am sure she didn't remember seeing my hubs yesterday either. But, she enjoys the moments - she remembers all of us still, even if she doesn't remember the last time she saw or talked to any of us. So the best gift any of us can give her is moments.

Hm, I guess I am feeling a bit maudlin today - sorry about that. Let's focus on the fact that it's Friday!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.