The Light Chaser

By TheVisualArtist

Scent of Water

Today I was in the High Desert of Southern California. I so wanted to photograph something. But alas, I was surrounded by Desert. It's not even a good desert - you know the kind you see in National Geographic Magazine (with blooming cactus, strange animals, etc.)? Well, I'm kinda glad? because me and strange animals wouldn't do well together (and the only picture would be of me running the other way).

But as I walked past this tree(?), I realized that life has a way of fighting. Even in the middle of the dry desert a tree can grow. It finds a way to survive. There are some lines in an ancient poem that are quite interesting: At least there is hope for a tree: If it is cut down, it will sprout again, and its new shoots will not fail. Its roots may grow old in the ground and its stump die in the soil, yet at the scent of water it will bud and put forth shoots like a plant.

Did you hear that? At the scent of water? We work the same way. What is that thing that makes you feel free and come alive? Is it music, the arts, cooking, dancing, singing, helping someone/serving? What is Your water? I encourage you today , go drink some water and live!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.