sp33dway

By sp33dway

Bristlenose

Meet Bertrum Bristlenose, or 'Bertie' for short.

He's a male Ancistrus, a tropical 'catfish' from the Amazon thread-streams of South America. They get their common name of 'Bristlenose Plec' thanks to the male-only bristley bits that grow all over their noses as they mature.

Being the very first fish I bought when I set up my fishtank ast november we're both very attached to the sprouty little fellow. When I got him he was only about 2cm long and as cute than a button, snaffling away at little patches of algae and get into the internal filter through any little gap he could find. He's now about 4" and getting bigger by the day and I love him to bits - something which, unless you're into fishkeeping, is probably hard to understand seeing as you can't stroke him on your lap or take him for a walk or get him to fetch a big wetly chewed fetchystick or play with a little ball of wool on the floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.