sp33dway

By sp33dway

look at dat

Meet 'Dylan'.

He's a Tiger Datnoid, latin name 'Datnioides undecimradiatus', more specifically referred to by those-in-the-know as a 'Thin-Bar NTT Dat' (The 'NTT' meaning he's a 'North Thailand Tiger' Datnoid.

He was given to me by my bro-in-law at the weekend and is now the biggest fish I keep at around the 5" mark. He'll eventually grow to a good 10" so I'll eventually need a bigger tank at some point, Lady Sp33d permitting ;-)

A lot of fishkeepers think they're a brackish water fish, but they're not. In fact there's only 2 types out of the 5 different ones that live in slightly brackish water, the rest loving the fresh tropical stuff. Being predatory he'll snaffle smaller fish if they were there - Check out the GOB ON THAT!

He's incredibly shy so I only managed to bag a few pics when the bogwood was taken out whilst I was trying to catch two quite skittish fish to give to my friend. With nowhere to hide I could snap a quick one but the muck from the gravel got swooshed up a bit so it's not the best of pics. In fact taking photos inside a tank with anything other than proper lighting (which I don't have) is very TRICKSY so I'm quite happy with this pic, all things considered).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.