The second half of life..

By twigs

Mr & Mrs Scabiosa

If you're a superstitious kind of a person then I guess you'll have been carefully keeping an eye out for the black cats/ladders/cracks in the pavements today. Me? Well, it's only when I've come to upload today's blip that I've even noticed it's Friday the 13th! I can happily report that nothing untoward appears to have beset me today - though there are still a couple of hours to go ;)

After last night's threatening clouds we had some heavy sounding rainfalls overnight (I love having a tin roof when the rain is pouring down) but they didn't seem to last long and things seem to have survived well. Thankfully. (Though I understand over in Golden Bay there was quite a bit more rain)

Today was a funny ol' day - grey, a few showers then bright sunshine and blue skies then more threatening clouds and showers. Managed to do a bit more in the garden which was good.

During yesterday's gardening stint I'd decided to dead head a scabiosa plant I have. It was a lesson in mindfulness; what had seemed like a ridiculously large and pointless task absorbed me for the best part of an hour and at the end I'd felt very content and relaxed. And today the neat, uncluttered plant displayed its various states and simply begged to be photographed. SO today I couldn't resist photographing what must surely be one of the most interesting, varied, confident yet soft flowers in the summer garden. Here are scabiosa stage 2 and scabiosa stage 4 looking every bit like a happily married couple!

When J popped in to see me, despite the clock only saying only 4.00pm we decided that it felt like wine-o'-clock to us!! A nice wind-down to another good day (and another great thing about being on holiday!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.