A Blip on the Reidar

By reidar

Stick to the path...

I'm often off the train at Edinburgh's Haymarket station and walk towards the centre of Edinburgh for work and over the past months its been a breath of fresh hearing to walk along the roads currently closed to traffic. They've been digging them up for a while now and I'll assume its something to do with the tram lines being fitted soon, I guess they try and do just about everything they can while they have it dug up though to save time and money.

Anyway, no cars or truck, buses, motorcycles or anything once you get beyond Manor Place heading into the centre and its bliss. Sometimes the workmen are noisy but most times its early and they are drinking coffee and playing with their Tonka Trucks.

I love it, so quiet. I want it to stay like that.

I've noticed though that now they have opened up the road to pedestrians along Shandwick Place that old habits die hard and that people just can't take to wandering down the road. I notice this a few weeks back and have so far enjoyed walking along the road (mindful of Tonka Trucks) but free of human contact hustling me out of the way as they head off to work. Meanwhile the paths are still busy. I snapped this at lunchtime and okay there is a woman in the middle of the shot but she's crossing the road.

Well I like the quiet and if everyone insists on walking on the pavement then there is just more room for me and the Tonka Trucks to meander about on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.