A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

A Syndrome called Alice

The Lord's Hall, Craigmillar Castle.

Alice In Wonderland Syndrome is a distorted perception of size, particularly of one's own body. You may feel extra large or extra tiny in relation to everything else. I guess at this point I do not need to explain where the name comes from! Supposedly it is quite common in childhood but they normally grow out of it. Occasionally it can become pathological and can include other, rather more distressing symptoms such as loss of perception of time and hallucinations.

I have recreational AiWL after managing to cultivate it a bit when I realised I hadn't had it for some time. I guess I was "growing out of it" at that point which seemed like rather shame to me. I can pretty much bring it on at will but I have to be lying down and very relaxed and I do not do it very often, perhaps once a month at most. I think it is pretty cool and a form of meditation.

There are a number of things which are quite normal but which can become disease states in some people. I will probably explore a few more of them if I can figure out how to illustrate them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.