A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Hypnagogic Hallucinations

I'd like to continue with weird brain stuff but have no idea how to illustrate it so I'll just post the lichen which is the only thing I photographed today anyway..

A Hypnagogic (or hypnopompic) hallucination is one which occurs just as you are dropping off to sleep (gogic) or just waking up (pompic). They are pretty common but a lot of people do not want to admit to them for fear that they are "going mad" (they aren't). I was able to reassure a colleague once who kept seeing non-existant spiders when she woke up. I brought it up quite spontaeously (as I am doing now in fact) and she just came out with it all. Poor thing! She was very relieved though so I was glad I did.

Spiders are a pretty common thing to see, as are spaceships. I once saw a hypnopompic spider in the middle of the night. I briefly tried to wake my husband to show him it as it was HUGE but luckily eventually realised what it was!

Auditory hallucinations are also possible and people may hear voices. I once heard a voice, a man saying "hello hello" as I woke up one time. It was particularly scary as at that time my bedroom was absolutely pitch black and I couldn't see a thing. Luckily I both recognised the voice and knew all about hypnopompic hallucinations so I only freaked out very briefly!

I think those are the only two instances I have ever had of it and, because I knew what they were I thought they were quite cool.

Just like the Alice in Wonderland Syndrome from yesterday it is mostly normal but can indicate a sleep disorder in some people.

55mm macro f2.8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.