Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Tea Pot

I must admit my heart wasn't in the Blip today, what with work and the upheaval of the last few days. But what really dampened the spirits was the loss of my trusty Lumix DMC LX3 (responsible for this blip among others), quite the best all-round camera I've ever had.

It was one of those losses I can't trace to any particular incident or moment, just a creeping realisation over the past day or two that it wasn't around. So much stuff has been moved that I thought it was bound to turn up as my photography gear does get scattered about the house. But, as we started to regain a bit of order and I began a full scale hunt, it became apparent that the camera wasn't there.

I'm still hoping it might have been stuffed in to a box somewhere but, if so, I can't think where. I've checked all the likely and unlikely places. I suppose I can make an insurance claim but that's not the point. They don't make these cameras anymore and good second hand ones, I imagine, are hard to find. And that's not the point either. The really frustrating thing is realising that my memory just isn't as sharp as it used to be and that, even though I try hard to take care of stuff, I'm still capable of being careless where I leave things.

Just now I don't have time to be looking for cameras. Deadlines are approaching fast so the blip is a tea pot, quite a nice shiny tea pot I'll concede. But it can't make up for my camera.

If it is lost, and I fear it is, does anyone have any ideas (apart from another DMC LX3) for a really good little pocket back-up camera?

On the plus side it was good to see George, the son that has started blipping, finding a good one today. He's starting to get the hang of this thing. Not sure I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.