Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Hoarding in progress

Some days, no matter how many later shot you take, it's the first one that ends up the pick of the bunch and becomes the blip of the day. As you'll guess, today was a case in point. I was walking down the Malahide Road on my way to get a bus in to town when I noticed that Nazareth House, the old people's home, had sprouted a hoarding, brightly painted in alternating panels of white and blue. This guy was putting the finishing touches to it, and I was really taken by the shadows which he and a neighbouring tree were casting. The only problem when the day's  takings made it onto the pooter was how to crop. This one's a bit of the literal side, perhaps, but has its own good points (I like having the shadow of the tree trunk included, and it all looks nicely balanced -- at least to my eye). But tweaking the thumbnail slightly produces an intriguing alternative, which almost made it instead.

I made one of my, now infrequent, trip to the bank in Baggot Street, and finished there just on 1:00 pm. Since I was in the neighbourhood, I phoned my good pal Dave to see if he could come out to play. He could, and we met for coffee and chat in The Schoolhouse on the canal. It was great to see Dave again, and I enjoyed our encounter, short as it was.

Not much happened afterwards, apart from taking up joesblips on a recommendation he made in a comment here. Joe's right: Salamanca is an excellent place to go for a quick bite at reasonable prices. As to price, you can't get much more reasonable than a two-course lunch for 10 euro, but that's what I had -- a (small) bowl of nice soup, and an imaginatively served couple of chunks of tempura cod (in their own little deep-fry basket) with a portion of skinny chips and tartare sauce. All for 10 euro! Thanks joe; I'll be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.