Communication

I'd arranged with the doctor to meet him at 10.30. Once again I woke to a frosty morning, but things quickly cleared up (at least on my side of the road) once the sun worked its way round in the sky.

I walked to and from the doctor's office in Killester, and it was on the way that I came across this ugly communications mast. It seemed appropriate in the context of my doctor's appointment. The doc and I had a chat. He repeated what he'd said on the phone yesterday, told me my prostate number was higher than it should be, gave me some reassurance by saying that the test is notorious for the high percentage of false positives which it throws up, and went on to say that the abnormal result could be the result of an infection. On the other hand, it might equally be because of a growth, which is why he wanted to refer me to a consultant urologist. He phonee to see what the wait would be and was told it could be August before a slot would be free, unless the situation was considered urgent. He decided to write a letter phrased more on the urgent side than not, and gave me that to bring to Beaumont.

He hadn't mentioned my cholesterol numbers, so I asked how that was looking. He checked what he'd got and told me there was nothing there for cholesterol. He phoned the blood test office who sad that test hadn't been done, so he asked again for a slot as soon as possible. The outcome is that I'm due for anther blood test at 8.30 am tomorrow (just for cholesterol this time). So I had my last bite to eat at 9.00 pm and retired to my Grishman shortly after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.